Rydal Penrhos Community
Tom Williams named in Wales 7s squad for Commonwealth Games

Tom Williams named in Wales 7s squad for Commonwealth Games

A former Rugby Academy star has been named in the Wales 7s squad for the upcoming Commonwealth Games.

Tom Williams, who left the school in 2014, will be part of the national side that travel to the Gold Coast in Australia next month and head coach Gareth Williams is expecting big things from the Ospreys prospect following his successful return from injury.

He said: "Tom has developed through the programme over the past two years and has shown an ability to perform against world-class opposition. This is an opportunity to turn that potential into proof and play a part in a huge push to achieve something special in this tournament.

"This is a group that can challenge on big occasions. We see this as a great opportunity to showcase sevens and our performance potential.”

British and Irish Lion Justin Tipuric and fellow Wales international Hallam Amos are two of the big names from the 15s discipline that have been included in the squad, which will be captained by forward Adam Thomas.

Williams was part of the school’s Rugby Academy that is run in partnership with Principality Premiership side RGC and the Welsh Rugby Union, which has produced a number of Gogs’ senior squad members and internationals playing across the country.

Helen Phillips, chair of Commonwealth Games Wales, added: "The WRU's squad for the men's sevens competition is very strong, and will put Wales in an excellent position to take on the other nations at the Commonwealth Games.

“We're particularly excited about the announcement given that the men's rugby players are the last of the Team Wales athletes to be named for next month's Games. We wish them all the very best on the rest of their journey to the Gold Coast and look forward to seeing them make our nation proud."

The Commonwealth Games Sevens will take place at the Robina Stadium from April 13-15, and they have been drawn with Olympic champions Fiji, Uganda and Sri Lanka.

Share this story