Rydal Penrhos Community
Performing Arts celebrated at inaugural Awards Dinner

Performing Arts celebrated at inaugural Awards Dinner

A host of talented pupils were honoured at Rydal Penrhos’ Inaugural Creative and Performing Arts dinner.

Head of English and Drama Leah Crimes kicked off proceedings on Friday, May 4 with her opening address, and this was followed by a contribution from special guest speaker and leading actress Mossie Smith.

Rydal Penrhos’ Community Choir performed a pair of hymns before the first accolades were handed out, which saw the very first half and full colours in Music and Drama awarded to deserving pupils.

Eddie Farrell, Sam Jones, Zahra Shamsi and Bijou Rajagopal gained half colours in Music, with Miles Poller, Sara Owen, Ben Gibson and Ieuan Franssens presented with full colours.

Drama half colours were presented to Jenny Blackman, Miles Poller, Sean Hughes, Grace Ormerod, Ruby James, Alistair Irvine, Joseph Morrow, Daisy Harker-Weston and Heidi Jack, while Luca Leggieri and Sammy Sherrington were the proud recipients of full colours.

The incredibly talented Hannah Davies then wowed those in attendance with a stunning vocal solo, before Head of Art Mark Sherrington took to the podium to present three awards from the department.

Tallulah Batley scooped the GCSE Art Award, Amelia Berthold won the International Baccalaureate prize and the exceptional Elysia Gilman took home the A-level Art Award.

It has been another excellent year for the Rydal Penrhos Dramatic Society, and Beau Holden, Shruthi Ganapathi, Philippa Thomas, Sophie Williams and Darcie Harker-Weston were recognised for their efforts with Higher Exemplar honours, while Aaron Sherrington, Sammy Sherrington, Arthur Hind and Luca Leggieri were given Technical Theatre Awards for their work behind the scenes.

Lower Sixth Form pupil Joseph Morrow was the recipient of the Fisher Mayer Cup for Acting, and Alistair Irvine came away with the Jennifer Jones Cup for Drama.

Sammy Sherrington added to her accolades with the Pugh-Thomas Cup for Drama, and Heidi Jack was also recognised with the Robson Cup for Best Performance in a Supporting Role.

The immense progression of Daisy Harker-Weston throughout the academic year with the Director of Drama Award for Most Improved Student from Mrs Crimes.

The evening continued with a fantastic solo effort from Charlotte Grosart, who performed the Adele smash hit ‘Someone Like You’ and drew widespread plaudits.

Director of Music Pete Williams awarded Department Exemplars to Caitriona Searl, Melissa Vos, Ethan Bytheway, Eleanor Osbourne, Rebecca Mann, Niamh Smith and Ada Vonbank, while Darcie Harker-Weston, Isabel Bateson, Hannah Davies, Shruthi Ganapathi, Beau Holden, Kevin Farrell, Harry Grocott, Richard Wolfendale, Bella Rutherford, Emma Hourihane, Tegid Goodman-Jones, Juan Rajagopal, Alicia Zhou, Arthur Hind, Amy Yue, Niamh Cook and Arend Franssens were each presented with Higher Exemplars.

The Redgrave Prize for Academic Music went to Miles Poller, and the Foster Redgrave Cup for Contribution to the Musical Life of the School was given to Sara Owen.

Ben Gibson is now the proud owner of the Kay Smith Prize for Instrumental Solo Performance, with vocal sensation Zahra Shamsi securing the Pinn Cup for Vocal Solo Performance and Llywelyn Cowell winning the Director of Music Award for Most Improved Student.

National Eisteddfod winner Tegid Goodman-Jones then demonstrated his inner crooner with the final song of the evening, and the magnificent dedication shown across all departments from Luca Leggieri earned him the prestigious Hatton Senior Award for Contribution and Achievement in the Creative and Performing Arts honour.

There was also a surprise award given to Denis Lavin, who was responsible for the complete transformation of the Performing Arts at Rydal Penrhos during his lengthy time at the school.

A bumper gallery of images can be found here

Share this story