Rydal Penrhos Community
Netball: End of Season Awards announced

Netball: End of Season Awards announced

A host of talented netballers have been rewarded for their fine efforts throughout the season with special awards.

Rydal Penrhos’ Head of Girls’ Games Nicky Head gave the distinctions from Years 7-10 at the school’s End of Term Prizegiving held prior to the Easter break.

Each deserving winner has been working incredibly hard throughout the season on all aspects of their game under the guidance of Rydal Penrhos’ committed staff, including specialist coach Heidi Bakewell.

Ariana Milligan earned the Year 7 Player of the Year honour, with Melissa Vos recognised for her exceptional development with the Most Improved accolade.

The Year 8 POTY Award went to Emily Thomas, and Charlotte Hourihane scooped the Most Improved POTY achievement as a result of her fantastic contribution.

Niamh Smith marked a fantastic first season in school colours with the Year 9 Player of the Year distinction, while Carmen Hurtado De Amezaga De La Lastra’s contribution brought with it the Most Improved award.

Rounding off the achievements were the Year 10 duo of Sydney Johnson and Cerys Cuddihy, who won the POTY and Most Improved respectively to mark their consistent performances throughout a campaign that saw a series of postponements due to the adverse weather conditions.

Director of Sport Allen Boyd, said: “Each pupil that came away with rewards can be enormously proud of the contribution they made during the season, and their commitment to becoming better is going to stand them in good stead for the future.”

Share this story