Rydal Penrhos Community
Individual award winners announced at Year 7-10 Speech Day

Individual award winners announced at Year 7-10 Speech Day

A host of Lower and Middle School pupils were acknowledged for their outstanding academic efforts with individual awards.

The large contingent picked up their respective distinctions from the school’s inaugural Year 7-10 Speech Day, with former teacher and pupil Mike Leach presenting the prizes in his role as special guest.

Emily Penwright’s creative nous saw her come away with the Junior Art Prize, with Hannah Davies scooping the Junior Drama Prize thanks in no small part to her incredible performance during the Dramatic Society production of Les Misérables earlier this year.

Passionate performer Darcie Harker-Weston was the worthy recipient of the Speech and Drama Prize, and Helen Liang’s tremendous commitment saw her secure the English as a Foreign Language Prize.

Gifted vocalist Arthur Hind attained the Redgrave Prize for Academic Music, with Ethan Bytheway (Brass Prize), Ada Vonbank (Singing Prize), Gwyn Davies (Strings Prize) and Ivo Vonbank (Woodwind Prize) also securing awards in a musical environment.

The enthusiastic Laurence Richardson was awarded the Prize for Contribution to the Boarding Life of the School, and Noah Langford was also acknowledged with the Prize for Contribution to Chapel Life.

Another notable winner was Emily Stubbings, who earned the Prize for Contribution to House Spirit, with Henry Battersby achieving the Prize for Contribution to Outdoor Education to further enhance his overall influence across all departments at Rydal Penrhos.

Multi-talented individual Juan Rajagopal too away the Tattersall Cup for Chess after conquering all-comers in the Inter-House Championship, and Welsh Academy member Charley Simpson was the winner of the Junior Golf Prize.

Christian Cheesley’s incredible progression secured him the Year 8 Golf Progress Prize, and Gabriella Murphy awarded the Head of Lower School Prize to Scott Hewitt.

Rounding off the accolades was the Head of Middle School Prize, with Paul Sanders selecting Ester Ball-Iverson as this year’s winner, with the pupil also securing the Skiing Progress Prize from the event.

Share this story