Rydal Penrhos Community
Draw made for second annual miSOCS Rydal Penrhos U16 Sevens

Draw made for second annual miSOCS Rydal Penrhos U16 Sevens

A host of young rugby stars will battle it out at a prestigious tournament at Rydal Penrhos.

The school will be hosting the second annual showcase on Saturday, March 4, which will feature 20 teams from across the country.

Teams for the newly named miSOCS sponsored Rydal Penrhos U16 Sevens tournament were put into four groups, and following the opening games teams will be divided into Cup, Plate, Bowl, Trophy and Shield depending on their placings in each pool.

The hosts have been drawn in Pool D alongside AKS Lytham, Birkdale School, Bishop Heber School and Ysgol Bro Dinefwr.

Last year’s winners Ellesmere College will take on Cathedral School Llandaff, Eirias High School, St Ambrose College and St Anselm’s College as they look to defend their title.

Pool A features a number of fancied teams including Stonyhurst College and Nant Conwy Rugby Club, while the likes of Bangor, Christ College Brecon and St Mary’s College occupy Pool C.

Director of Sport Allen Boyd, said: “This year’s event promises to be another fantastic showcase of rugby sevens, with a large number of teams coming from long distances to compete against some of the best schools in the country.

“Events like this are a fantastic way for young players to sample a big game atmosphere, while also improving their teamwork in the hope of gaining some silverware.

“We look forward to welcoming all competitors to the under 16 tournament, which this year has been sponsored by miSOCS and we are delighted to have them on board.”

Pool A
Birkenhead School Nant Conwy RFC

Queen Elizabeth High School

Stonyhurst College                
Manchester Grammar School  
Pool B
Cathedral School Llandaff Ellesmere College             
Eirias High School St Ambrose College
St Anselm's College  
Pool C
Bangor RFC Christ College Brecon
Newcastle Under Lyme School Wirral Grammar School          
St Mary's College  
Pool D
AKS Lytham Birkdale School
Rydal Penrhos School Bishop Heber School
Ysgol Bryn Dinefwr  



Share this story