Rydal Penrhos Community
Boys' Hockey: U16 side begin national championship defence this week

Boys' Hockey: U16 side begin national championship defence this week

Boys’ Hockey players at Rydal Penrhos begin the defence of their national championship this week.

The school’s U16 side will take to the Astro on Wednesday, March 13 for the North Wales Schools’ Championships, with some of the region’s top talent battling it out for a place at the national finals.

They will be looking to continue the incredible success in the competition of late, with the Rydal Penrhos side emerging victorious from the regional event last season and also scooped the Welsh Schools’ Championship thanks to a sterling display in the final.

Each member of the squad has been working incredibly hard under the expert leadership of Dominic Maguire, who was appointed Head of Hockey in September, which should bring with it a very strong showing.

The squad will be led by skipper Kevin Farrell, with George Smith-Edwards named as vice-captain.

There is plenty of experience within the side, with Tegid Goodman-Jones and Alexander Starling both earning representative honours with north Wales and recently took part in a huge national indoor competition at London’s Olympic Park.

The likes of Zach Speakman, Teddy Roberts, Adrian Lewis and Anthony Bowe are also set to play a significant part in any success that comes their way, with Theo Bryant, Jasper Richardson, Josh Manning, Adrian Lewis, Ethan Morris and Ben Davies others to keep an eye on.

Director of Sport Allen Boyd, said: “It has been an incredible period of success for our boys’ hockey provision, and hopefully this is a trend that can continue throughout the current season under the exciting new leadership of Mr Maguire.

“He has left no stone unturned with his preparation and coaching methods, and each member of the squad has benefitted enormously from his expertise.”

U16 squad: Jasper Richardson, Teddy Roberts, Alexander Starling, Ben Davies, Anthony Bowe, George Smith-Edwards (Vice-Capt), Ethan Morris, Joshua Peevor, Theo Bryant, Kevin Farrell (Capt), Tegid Goodman-Jones, Adrian Lewis, Josh Manning, Zachariah Speakman.

Share this story