Rydal Penrhos Community
Boys' Hockey: End of season award winners announced

Boys' Hockey: End of season award winners announced

A number of Boys’ Hockey stars at Rydal Penrhos have been rewarded for their excellent efforts throughout the campaign with individual awards.

The Lower and Middle School groups received their respective prizes at Rydal Penrhos’ end of term Prizegiving Assembly on Friday, April 5, which were presented by Executive Principal John Waszek and Senior School Head Sally Ann Harding.

Liam Farrell’s exceptional season saw him come away with the Year 7 Player of the Award, with Arun Ramesh scooping the Most Improved Player of the Year distinction in recognition of his impressive development.

The ultra-consistent and hard-hitting Laurence Richardson was the deserved winner of the Year 8 Player of the Year distinction, with pacey player Jonathan Osbourne claiming the Most Improved Player of the Year Award.

North Wales U14 squad member Alex Starling enjoyed a fine first season at Rydal Penrhos which culminated in him winning the Year 9 Player of the Year, and goalkeeper Niall Richardson’s shot-stopping prowess saw him claim the Most Improved Player of the Year title.

Rounding off the successes were Ben Davies and Simeon Murphy Thomas, who earned Year 10 Player and Most Improved after both contributed significantly to the programme over the course of the season.

The campaign is not over for Rydal Penrhos’ U12 and U14 squads, who will join the school’s U18 side at the Welsh Schools’ Championships next month after winning the North Wales Regional Championships in fine fashion.

Share this story