Rydal Penrhos Community
18 secure Duke of Edinburgh Bronze

18 secure Duke of Edinburgh Bronze

A large number of Duke of Edinburgh hopefuls at Rydal Penrhos have secured the first milestone associated with the programme.

Joe Allen, Hannah Gasem, Arthur Hind, Beau Holden, Thomas Hughes, Emily Madden, Rebecca Mann, Daniel McLaughlin, Lili Minton Roberts, Tasnim Mortuza, Simeon Murphy-Thomas, Joshua Peevor, Benjamin Purcell, Isobel Rogerson, Cameron Shaw, Suhas Shekar, Aidan Skinner and Sophie Williams were all successful in securing their Duke of Edinburgh Bronze Award after a strenuous assessment process earlier this year.

They all achieved this feat during their time in Year 9, culminating in their qualifying expedition during the very hot conditions at the end of the summer term.

Each successful candidate received their certificates from Deputy Head Tim Cashell during Chapel on Monday, November 12, with many now aiming for further accolades during the Silver section of the prestigious initiative.

This is the latest in a series of outstanding achievements from the Duke of Edinburgh scheme at Rydal Penrhos, with Jenny Johnson, Sara Owen and current Head Boy Nick Fiorita managing to achieve the Gold Award thanks to their sterling efforts under the expert leadership of programme co-ordinator Dr Jim Lewis.

Mr Cashell, said: “To have so many coming through with their Bronze Awards is a testament to the teamwork they displayed throughout the assessment process and the hard work being done by Dr Lewis and other staff.

“Hopefully this accolade will spur them on to even greater heights in the coming years and add to Rydal Penrhos’ rich history of exceptional achievements since we implemented the DofE scheme.”


Share this story